simple black bean congee

I don’t know how I managed to acquire so many cans of black beans, in addition to my ample supply of dried black beans. I think I have at least a dozen cans. Black bean congee is a perfect way to use lots of black beans. There are other perfect ways to use lots of black beans, but none quite so easy as this:

simple black bean congee
2 (15 oz.) cans of black beans
1 cup red lentils, rinsed
1 cup brown rice, rinsed
ginger, minced (I used about a tablespoon)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
salt to taste

Cook it all in a big pot with however much water you want. Bring to a boil, then turn to low heat and simmer for 1 to 1.5 hrs. Cooking time is less because obviously the beans are already cooked since they came from a can. I don’t bother to drain the beans because Eden Organics does not add any salt and the kombu they use is nutritious. Add more water as needed to maintain desired consistency. This makes a large quantity of congee so it might be a good idea to freeze some.